Choose any of these login options:

The Difference Between 3750 MLS QoS and 3850 MQC QoS

The configuration of QoS in the 3850 line has been improved due to its implementation of MQC (universal QoS configuration model) configuration instead of the old MLS QoS (platform-dependent QoS configuration) commands from the cisco 3750 and 3560 lines of switches.
The main differences are highlighted in this table:

Switch Type 3750 3850
Basic structure MLS MQC
QoS default Disabled Enabled
Global config Support MLS QoS
Support some of MQC at ingress
Does not support MLS QoS
Support MQC [class-map, policy-map]
Interface config Support MLS QoS config and some of MQC CLI at ingress Attach the policy to the interface
Port trust default Disabled Enabled
Port Ingress Classification/Policing/Marking/
[NO Iingress Queuing !]
Port Egress Queuing Classification/Policing/marking/queuing
Switch Virtual Interface (SVI) Ingress Classification/Policing/Marking Classification/Marking
SVI Egress None Classification/Marking
It is important to recognize the main fundamental change in the QoS approach.

On the 3750, by default the QoS is disabled whereas on the 3850, it is enabled. Also in order to preserve Layer 2 (L2)/Layer 3 (L3) QoS marking on the 3750 platform, a trust configuration must be applied.

In the case of the cisco 3850 series switchs , all packets by default are trusted (the L2/L3 QoS marking is preserved), unless you change it with an application of a specific policy map on the ingress or egress interface.

More releted:
Cisco 3750 to 3850 QoS Conversion Commands
Cisco Catalyst 3750 v2 Series Switches
How to Boot and Run IOS XE Software in Cisco 3850 Switch?
Cisco 3850 Interface Configuration on NM Modules

share on: Share it! Tweet it! Stumble it! Digg it! Email it!  |  Permalink  |  cisconetwork in cisco 3850 | Comment on this
Reader Comments

Post a Comment
Reputation: 0 (0%)
Member Since:  Apr 2015
Last activity: 5/11/15, 10:52 pm
Blog Archives